Navigation auf


Swiss Leading House VPET-ECON

University of Zurich


Being the first European university established by a democratic political system, the University of Zurich (UZH) was founded as “Universitas Turicensis” in 1833 and taught 161 students in the first year. To date, 12 Nobel Prizes conferred to UZH scholars, from Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen (Physics) in 1901, over Albert Einstein (Physics) in 1921 to Rolf Zinkernagel (Physiology or Medicine) in 1996. 

Today, the UZH is Switzerland’s largest university with around 28'000 students enrolled in seven faculties that cover some 100 subject areas. Being a member of the “League of European Research Universities” (LERU), the "Universitas 21" (U21) network and "una europa",  the University of Zurich belongs to Europe’s most prestigious research institutions. The outstanding research contributions are especially renowned in in the fields of medicine, immunology, genetics, neuroscience, structural biology and economics.

For in-depth information please visit the university's website.